SouthPacific Promo Poster

I reviewed a production of South Pacific that passed through Baltimore, before my review could really make any big difference. Here it is, in case you don’t get the subtext. This was South Pacific without the… I don’t know what it was without, but whatever it was, it could have used it. I hate writing reviews like this. It makes me wonder what the hell people are missing when theatre critics are sent down the tubes with all other professional writers. But then, just as this was rushing through town, I understand that somewhere across the Beltway, in DC, another production, of Oklahoma, at Arena Stage was drawing raves. Now. I didn’t see that production. But if I had seen it, I would have been able to tell people exactly what it was that was missing here. I think it’s called pizzazz.

